Storm

I was sitting around thinking today about the feeling of awe, respect, excitement, etc. that comes, for me, with a thunderstorm. That first gust of a downdraft from the leading edge awakens something within me that I love. Appropriately, then, a buddy of mine and I went and got some food, and when we were leaving the eatery in question, filled with crab rangoon and rice, there was this amazing cloud taking up half of the sky with a double leading shelf cloud. It was a sight to behold, and I wish I had a picture of it to share, but I sadly do not. We bolted to his house to get his camera and go get some storm pictures, narrowly missing a falling tree. We drove out through the downpour to the area near the cemetaries and the airport west of town and took some fantastic pictures, which are forthcoming. Nothing amazing, everything that happened in that sequence was fairly unimportant, but together they rocked my socks off.

